Home  How Religious Programs Function  Catholic Committee  Other Religious Emblems

How Religious Scouting Programs Function

Religious emblems programs are administered by each religious faith or denomination; they are not the direct responsibility of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA). The BSA recognizes the duty of, and encourages, each Scout and Scouter to actively worship and serve God according to his or her own beliefs. To recognize the participation and advancement of Tiger Cubs, Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Explorers and Venturers, religious awards may be worn on the uniform. A religious emblem knot earned as a Cub Scout may continue to be displayed on the uniform as a Boy Scout, Explorer, Venturer, and as an adult Scouter. Adult religious awards are typically awarded based on service to Scouting and the promotion of religious awards within their own faith or denomination, but are not earned by completing specific requirements. This is similar to a District Award of Merit and certain Council awards.

Website underwritten by Knights of Columbus
Council #4746 Vestal, New York

© 2007 Baden-Powell Council - Duty to God Committee
This is NOT an official web site of the Baden-Powell Council.
Information on this site may not be accurate or up-to-date.